Mom Life

b-momlife

…He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 2 Corinthians 12:9

“Mom life”…Have you ever stopped to think about what that really means?  Does it mean -hashtag- Messy Hair Don’t Care?  Does it mean -hashtag- I Need More Sleep?  Or how about -hashtag- Who Wants To Fold My Laundry And Put It Away?

In my conversations with the Lord I’ve come to realize that “Mom Life” doesn’t look the same for everyone.  Your mom life may look easier than mine, but I don’t know your struggles.  My mom life may look easier than yours, but you don’t know my struggles.

Lately, I’ve come to realize that there is no script for mom life.  Comparing myself to other moms will only make me sink into a hole that’s very difficult to climb out of.

What if instead of comparing ourselves, we decided to lift each other up?  What if instead of wishing we had “her mom life”, we appreciated our own?  What would every aspect of our life look like if instead of calling someone, we talked to God about it first?

Lord knows I’ve cried many tears wondering if I’m “the right mom” for my children.  Did I yell too loud? Did I spank to hard?  Did I hug them enough today?  Did I make them feel loved?

As I struggled with these questions a couple of days ago, (I had a tears falling, nose dripping type of moment) I felt God whisper in my ear you’re never going to reach that pedestal YOU’VE created for yourself.  I did not create you with the intention of sitting back and watching you fail.  I created you with the intention of guiding you to the top of the mountains you face.  Daughter, hold on to me!  I am your strength when you are weak!  You are my child, my creation, my wonderful masterpiece, one of a kind, beautiful, unique, blessed, and highly favored!  Daughter, don’t try to BE the best just TRY your best!  You won’t always get it right.  Sometimes you will lose the fight with your 5 year old.  Just know I’ll be right there to strengthen you for another day!  You are NOT alone!  I AM with you!  I AM in you!  I AM here, there, and everywhere!!

At this point I was a mess.  But you know what, I was a beautiful mess.  My Heavenly Father wrapped me in His arms and hugged me until I could breath again.  What an amazing moment!  I literally sat up and took in a huge sigh of relief.

I then heard a little voice from the bathroom say, “Mom, I’m done.”  So I wiped my face, walked into the bathroom, and gave my child a bath.

#MomLifeWaitsForNoOne

Written by

~Jenn Quinones

One thought on “Mom Life

Leave a Reply

